Roberts Confirmed: 78-22

Phoebe Connelly

To the surprise of no one, John Roberts was confirmed this morning as the 17th Chief Justice of the United States.See where your senator fell here. Of the 44 Democrats in the Senate, only 22 voted against Roberts:Akaka (D-HI) Bayh (D-IN) Biden (D-DE) Boxer (D-CA) Cantwell (D-WA) Clinton (D-NY) Corzine (D-NJ) Dayton (D-MN) Durbin (D-IL) Feinstein (D-CA) Harkin (D-IA) Inouye (D-HI) Kennedy (D-MA) Kerry (D-MA) Lautenberg (D-NJ) Mikulski (D-MD) Obama (D-IL) Reed (D-RI) Reid (D-NV) Sarbanes (D-MD) Schumer (D-NY) Stabenow (D-MI)"John Roberts will be a great umpire on the high court," said Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist (R-Tenn.) Well thank you Bill. Perhaps we can now turn our attention to your ethics problems?

Phoebe Connelly, a former managing editor at In These Times, is Web Editor at The American Prospect.
Subscribe and Save 66%

Less than $1.67 an issue