About Us

Our His­to­ry

In 1976, author and his­to­ri­an James Wein­stein found­ed In These Times with the mis­sion to iden­ti­fy and clar­i­fy the strug­gles against cor­po­rate pow­er now mul­ti­ply­ing in Amer­i­can soci­ety.“

Wein­stein (19262005) was joined in estab­lish­ing this inde­pen­dent mag­a­zine of news, cul­ture and opin­ion by not­ed intel­lec­tu­als Daniel Ells­berg, E.P. Thomp­son, Noam Chom­sky, Bar­bara Ehren­re­ich, Julian Bond and Her­bert Mar­cuse, all of whom were among the orig­i­nal spon­sors of the mag­a­zine (see full list of found­ing spon­sors below). Thir­ty-four years lat­er, those spon­sors now num­ber in the thou­sands – as a not-for-prof­it pub­li­ca­tion, In These Times, like all polit­i­cal mag­a­zines on both the left and the right, has sur­vived with the help of read­ers who make dona­tions above and beyond the cost of their subscriptions.

Four decades after its found­ing, In These Times remains com­mit­ted to cov­er­ing the con­tro­ver­sial issues of our time. Through five pres­i­den­tial admin­is­tra­tions, In These Times has adhered to the belief that to thrive, a pro­gres­sive polit­i­cal move­ment needs its own media to inform, edu­cate and ori­ent itself.

A strong democ­ra­cy depends on healthy debate, and In These Times is one of only a hand­ful of inde­pen­dent media projects fight­ing to widen the terms of nation­al dis­cus­sion. In These Times has fre­quent­ly scooped the main­stream media on sto­ries rang­ing from the first cov­er­age of glob­al warm­ing and exten­sive inves­tiga­tive report­ing on the Iran Con­tra scan­dal in the 80s to ear­ly in-depth cov­er­age of the geno­cide in the Sudan in 2004. Such report­ing has earned In These Times more Project Cen­sored awards than any oth­er magazine.

Limited Time:


Our Mission

In These Times is an independent, nonprofit magazine dedicated to advancing democracy and economic justice, informing movements for a more humane world, and providing an accessible forum for debate about the policies that shape our future.

Edi­to­r­i­al Inde­pen­dence Policy

In These Times is a read­er-sup­port­ed, inde­pen­dent non­prof­it news orga­ni­za­tion. We sub­scribe to stan­dards of edi­to­r­i­al inde­pen­dence adopt­ed by the Insti­tute for Non­prof­it News:

Our orga­ni­za­tion retains full author­i­ty over edi­to­r­i­al con­tent to pro­tect the best jour­nal­is­tic and busi­ness inter­ests of our orga­ni­za­tion. We main­tain a fire­wall between news cov­er­age deci­sions and sources of all rev­enue. Accep­tance of finan­cial sup­port does not con­sti­tute implied or actu­al endorse­ment of donors or their prod­ucts, ser­vices or opinions.

We accept gifts, grants and spon­sor­ships from indi­vid­u­als and orga­ni­za­tions for the gen­er­al sup­port of our activ­i­ties, but our news judg­ments are made inde­pen­dent­ly and not on the basis of donor support.

Our orga­ni­za­tion may con­sid­er dona­tions to sup­port the cov­er­age of par­tic­u­lar top­ics, but our orga­ni­za­tion main­tains edi­to­r­i­al con­trol of the cov­er­age. We will cede no right of review or influ­ence of edi­to­r­i­al con­tent, nor of unau­tho­rized dis­tri­b­u­tion of edi­to­r­i­al content.

Donor Trans­paren­cy

In These Times is com­mit­ted to trans­paren­cy in every aspect of fund­ing our organization.

Accept­ing finan­cial sup­port does not mean we endorse donors or their prod­ucts, ser­vices or opinions.

We accept gifts, grants and spon­sor­ships from indi­vid­u­als, orga­ni­za­tions and foun­da­tions to help with our gen­er­al oper­a­tions, cov­er­age of spe­cif­ic top­ics, and spe­cial projects. Our news judg­ments are made inde­pen­dent­ly — not based on or influ­enced by donors. We do not give sup­port­ers the rights to assign, review or edit content.

In These Times will make pub­lic all donors who give a total of $500 or more per year as part of our annu­al report.


Joel Bleifuss

Editor & Publisher

Diana Babineau

Executive Editor (acting)

Jessica Stites

Executive Editor (on leave)

Christopher Hass

Executive Publisher

Lauren Kostoglanis

Development Director

Sarah Lazare

Web Editor

Hamilton Nolan

Labor Reporter

Alice Herman

Investigative Fellow

Indigo Olivier

Investigative Fellow

Rachel K. Dooley

Creative Director

Jamie Hendry

Development Coordinator

Caroline Reid

Publishing Assistant

Matt Whitt

Design Assistant

Rebecca Sterner

Circulation Director

Copy Editor

Bob Miller


Sharon Bloyd-Peshkin, Amelia Diehl, Rochelle Lodder, Lindsay Muscato

Senior Editors

Terry J. Allen, Patricia Aufderheide, Susan J. Douglas, David Moberg, Salim Muwakkil, David Sirota, Kurt Vonnegut (1922-2007)

Contributing Writers

Kate Aronoff, Theo Anderson, Michael Atkinson, Frida Berrigan, Michelle Chen, Sady Doyle, Pete Karman, Jane Miller, Shaun Richman, Cole Stangler, Slavoj Žižek

Contributing Editors

Dean Baker, Frida Berrigan, Barbara Ehrenreich, Jeremy Gantz, Mindy Isser, Naomi Klein, John Nichols, Rick Perlstein, Micah Uetricht

Cartoons Editor

Matt Bors


Terry LaBan, Dan Perkins

Fall 2020 Editorial Interns

Frank Carber, Hannah Faris, Clara Liang, Janea Wilson

Website Development

Gridwork Design

Board of Directors

M. Nieves Bolanos, Tobita Chow, Kevin Creighan, Dan Dineen, James Harkin, Robert Kraig, Paul Olsen, Rick Perlstein, Margaret Rung, Steven Saltzman, Stacey Sutton, David Taber, William Weaver

Publishing Consortium

Grant Abert, Theresa Alt, Aris Anagnos, Stuart Anderson, Dan and Samantha Collins, Leonard C. Goodman, Collier Hands, James Harkin, Lorraine Honig, Polly Howells and Eric Werthman, Gloria Jarecki, Betsy Krieger and David Kandel, Nancy Kricorian and James Schamus, Lisa Lee, Chris Lloyd, Beth Maschinot, Bruce Merrill, Nancy Fleck Myers, Richard L. Pearlstone, Dave Rathke, Abby Rockefeller and Lee Halprin, Perry Rosenstein and Gladys Miller Rosenstein, T.M. Scruggs, Lois Sontag, Lewis and Kitty Steel, Ellen Stone Belic, Jenny and Trevor Tomkins

In These Times Alumni

Craig Aaron, Eric Alterman, Dean Baker, Sidney Blumenthal, Monika Bauerlein, Sara Corbett, David Corn, Ana Marie Cox, Barbara Ehrenreich, Ben Ehrenreich, Laura Flanders, Tom Frank, Amy Goodman, Juan Gonzales, Miles Harvey, Christopher Hayes, John Judis, Naomi Klein, Robert W. McChesney, Harold Myerson, Jim Naureckas, Craig Nelson, John Nichols, Sal Paolantonio, Christian Parenti, Michael Paterniti, Jeff Sharlet, Ken Silverstein, Jeffrey St. Clair, Ilan Stavans, Andrew Sullivan, Tracy Van Slyke, Kurt Vonnegut, Alice Walker, Joan Walsh

Founding Sponsors

Robert Allen, Julian Bond, Noam Chomsky, Barry Commoner, Al Curtis, Hugh DeLacy (1910-1986), G. William Domhoff, Douglas Dowd, David Du Bois, Barbara Ehrenreich, Daniel Ellsberg, Frances Putnam Fritchman, Stephen Fritchman, Barbara Garson, Eugene D. Genovese, Emily Gibson, Michael Harrington (1928-1989), Dorothy Healey (1914-2006), David Horowitz, Paul Jacobs (1918-1978), Arthur Kinoy, Ann J. Lane, Elinor Langer, Jesse Lemisch, Salvador Luria (1912-1991), Staughton Lynd, Harry Magdoff (1913-2006), Herbert Marcuse (1898-1979), Carey McWilliams (1905-1980), David Montgomery, Carlos Munoz, Harvey O'Connor (1897-1987), Jessie Lloyd O'Connor (1904-1988), Earl Ofari, Ronald Radosh, Paul Schrade, Derek Shearer, Stan Steiner (1925-1987), Warren Susman (1927-1985), Paul Sweezy (1910-2004), E.P. Thompson (1924-1993), Naomi Weisstein, William A. Williams (1921-1990), John Womack Jr.