110th Congress: Day 1

Brian Zick

AMERICAblog provides some "wrap up" analysis. PoliticsTV has posted a small batch of video clips, in which Democratic members discuss their goals: Barney Frank Massachusetts-4 Debbie Wasserman-Schultz Florida-20 DCCC Chair Chris Van Hollen Maryland-8 Tom Allen Maine-1 Sandy Levin Michigan-12 Brad Miller North Carolina-13 Russ Carnahan Missouri-3 Tom Udall New Mexico-3 update: Bill Scher from Liberal Oasis has posted some audio interviews with Democrats. Louise Slaughter New York-28 Jason Altmire Pennsylvania-4 Howard Dean DNC Chair Brad Miller North Carolina-13 Barney Frank Massachusetts-4

Help In These Times Celebrate & Have Your Gift Matched!

In These Times is proud to share that we were recently awarded the 16th Annual Izzy Award from the Park Center for Independent Media at Ithaca College. The Izzy Award goes to an independent outlet, journalist or producer for contributions to culture, politics or journalism created outside traditional corporate structures.

Fellow 2024 Izzy awardees include Trina Reynolds-Tyler and Sarah Conway for their joint investigative series “Missing In Chicago," and journalists Mohammed El-Kurd and Lynzy Billing. The Izzy judges also gave special recognition to Democracy Now! for coverage that documented the destruction wreaked in Gaza and raised Palestinian voices to public awareness.

In These Times is proud to stand alongside our fellow awardees in accepting the 2024 Izzy Award. To help us continue producing award-winning journalism a generous donor has pledged to match any donation, dollar-for-dollar, up to $20,000.

Will you help In These Times celebrate and have your gift matched today? Make a tax-deductible contribution to support independent media.

Democratic Rep. Summer Lee, who at the time was a candidate for the state House, at a demonstration in Pittsburgh for Antwon Rose, who was killed by police, in 2018. Lee recently defeated her 2024 primary challenger.
Get 10 issues for $19.95

Subscribe to the print magazine.